Board of Trustees

At Windward, as in most independent schools, decision-making authority at the highest level resides in a volunteer Board of Trustees, whose membership often includes current parents. The Board of Trustees does not intervene in the daily affairs of the School, such as curriculum development and hiring, evaluating, or firing of faculty members and staff.

Instead, the Board focuses on three areas critical to the success of any independent school:
  1. It selects, evaluates, and supports the Head of School, to whom it delegates authority to manage the School;
  2. It develops broad institutional policies that guide the Head of School in running the School;
  3. It is accountable for the financial well-being of the School. In the conduct of its official business, the Board acts only as a whole; individual Trustees, including the Board Chair, have no authority to act unless specifically authorized to do so by the Board acting as a whole.

Windward Board of Trustees 2016-17

Neil Wertlieb
Tom Gilder
Bryan Ezralow
Nancy Glaser
Elliot Gordon '74
Allison Mirkin
Tony Rubin
Bennett Rosenthal
Parent Guild Representative
Christina Smale
Carrie Creighton
Patricia Duncan
Ted Fikre
Maria Mancuso Gersh
Dan Ginsberg
Jordan Kaplan
Emily Kovner Moss ‘91
Nora Malone
Debbie Markiles
Bill McMorrow
Michael Parks
Randye Soref
Marvin Suomi
Karol Watson
Perrie Weiner
Jane Wurwand
Windward School is a 7-12, co-educational, independent day school in Los Angeles, California.